The Gamified Consumer

 

This video explores the impacts gamification has on educational and consumer contexts. Gamification has had an immense impact on human behaviour and motivation, this video will provides examples of relevant positive and negative issues related to gamification.

When creating this short video I adopted a very simple and relaxed strategy. This strategy is the use of comedy to present scholarly information. By including short skits and comedic elements the audience is more likely to engage and remember the issues being discussed. If I were to to stand in front of a camera and give a strict and formal speech viewers would likely become disengaged.

The information presented is displayed in an relaxed manner (e.g, Taco Bell Hat) in an attempt to engage audiences and attract viewers. When writing and preparing my discussion I felt that it is extremely important to write in a very simple yet scholarly manner. I did this by creating a structure. The structure firstly aims to introduce gamification and its principles by giving clear and relevant examples of gamification such as McDonalds Monopoly and educational institutions. The structure then dictates that I will dive deeper into these two examples and discuss their relevance to gamification. Finally, I will compare these two types of gamification and conclude by allowing the audience to decide whether gamification is good or bad.

When researching gamification I decided to extend my boundaries by reading not so scholarly sources such as blogs and .com websites. I did not use these websites to confirm any facts or ideas within my video however, this approach did allow me to gain perspective. Of course I used scholarly sources from inside and outside of the reading list to write my discussion. Nevertheless, these scholarly sources will often present very formal and direct facts whereas these not so scholarly websites will display raw and informal opinions of gamification.

These opinions, while they should not be used to back up any arguments are important to consider. For example Person A on one website may say that gamification is a useless tool used to steal our money whilst Person B on another website may refer to gamification as the greatest educational tool they’ve ever encountered. By reading these opinions I am able to realise that I should focus my writing on the positive AND negative affects of gamification, instead of just the positive. When researching scholarly sources I decided to extend my search outside of the ALC203 reading list as this allowed me to find sources which were more specific and relevant to my discussion.

Drawing on my own images and content was definitely a huge challenge when creating this video. At first I tried to make my own images by drawing them online however this obviously didn’t work out.

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 7.05.18 PM

McDonalds Monopoly 2010 Small Bag By Aranami (CC BY 2.0)

Finding images that were relevant to my video with the right licensing attributes was also a challenge. After scrolling through Flickr for hours I finally came across the images I need (McDonalds Monopoly 2010 Small Bag & Regis University-Main Hall).

Instead of trying to draw my own images I decided it would be more appropriate to take screenshots of my online platforms (Credit Point Bar).

Screen Shot 2017-05-23 at 7.04.59 PM
Credit Point Bar By Christine Ling (CC BY 2.0)

After writing and creating this video I have learnt that there is beauty in simplicity. It is better to have less content and images that are relevant to the discussion than to have an abundance of creative commons and original images. The practicality of this assessment piece has definitely made me more engaged and inspired to create valuable content. The fact that this assessment piece will be accessible to all members of the public has also motivated me to create work that I am proud of and can use to further my career, whereas if I were to write a 2000 word essay I would be more likely to forget the information I learned during the task.

My Broader ALC203-related Online Activity:

My online activity has rapidly increased within the duration of this course, especially in the first half of the semester. My motivation to remain present in the ALC203 twitter community was fuelled by the Tiffit System. This is because, the game mechanics used in this system made posting content online fun and engaging. The point list showed significant resemblance to a leaderboard and encouraged me to constantly post on twitter and then check the tiffit point list in order to see if my score had increased. I was also motivated to stay active online as I was slowly creating an online portfolio which could be used to show future employers.

Reference List

Bogost, I. (2014). Why Gamification is Bullshit. In: The Gameful World: Approaches, Issues, Applications, 1st ed. [online] MIT Press, p.65. Available at: http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt1287hcd.7 [Accessed 22 May 2017].

Chou, Y. (2017). Top 10 Marketing Gamification Cases You Won’t Forget. [online] Yu-kai Chou: Gamification & Behavioral Design. Available at: http://yukaichou.com/gamification-examples/top-10-marketing-gamification-cases-remember/ [Accessed 9 May 2017].

Faiella, F, & Ricciardi, M 2015, GAMIFICATION AND LEARNING: A REVIEW OF ISSUES AND RESEARCH, Journal Of E-Learning & Knowledge Society, 11, 3, p. 13, Complementary Index, EBSCOhost, viewed 22 May 2017.

Kim, B 2015, Chapter 5: Designing Gamification in the Right Way, Library Technology Reports, 2, p. 33, General OneFile, EBSCOhost, viewed 22 May 2017.

Kim, B 2015, Chapter 1: The Popularity of Gamification in the Mobile and Social Era, Library Technology Reports, 2, p. 5, General OneFile, EBSCOhost, viewed 22 May 2017.

Rigby, C. (2014). Gamification and Moticvation. In: The Gameful World: Approaches, Issues, Applications, 1st ed. [online] MIT Press, p.113. Available at: http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt1287hcd.10 [Accessed 22 May 2017].

Photo Credit

Credit Point Bar By Christine Ling (CC BY 2.0)

Regis University-Main Hall By J.Pock (CC BY-SA 3.0)

URL: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Regis_University-Main_Hall.jpg

McDonalds Monopoly 2010 Small Bag By Aranami (CC BY 2.0)

URL: https://www.flickr.com/photos/z0/5116443048

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

